Spreading Yourself Thin?

Things were looking sparse in terms of work for me in recent weeks. For a solid month, I consistently had work every single day. Then I took a small break. Then I stopped applying and only did solicited jobs from repeat clients. So things tapered off a bit. Then (holy smokes!) things took off and I’ve only now found a few seconds to update this blog. I just finished a series of articles for one of my awesome repeats, and have been keeping my other blog (http://northernbeavertales.wordpress.com/) on the up and up. Next, I am doing a review of a CD  (long overdue) and continuing an outline for my design partners. I’ve realized that I really need to buy myself a good day planner.

Prioritization!

If you’re not already a Type A Personality type kind of person, you should pretty much try to adopt it. Write down a list of all the projects both short and long term that you have and figure out what needs to be done ASAP and what can wait a bit. And like I said, maybe get a day planner so you can figure out when you’re going to get things done. 

Communicate

My family was recently hit with a disgusting flu. I didn’t get much work done in that time, but I was always available for consult. I emailed my repeater asking for a 1 day extension, which he kindly granted. Most clients are understanding, if you need an extra day (and if you state that you want to make sure it’s good quality,) you shouldn’t have a problem. 

No Procrastinating!

As discussed here, turn the TV off and get your writing done. No excuses. If you’re awake and you’re feeling inspired (or even if you’re not,) spend a few hours where you can writing. If you’re getting paid for the job (and I seriously hope you are) just think of all that sweet cash you’re not making while you sit there watching Mad Men.

Ok so I can scratch “Write for the Ottawa Writer blog” off my list. Done.

 

7 thoughts on “Spreading Yourself Thin?

  1. 4Ti0rpfBMnJYa1

    325071 574080Aw, this became an really good post. In thought I would like to devote writing such as this moreover – taking time and actual effort to make a quite very good article… but exactly what do I say… I procrastinate alot and by no indicates uncover a strategy to get something completed. 870496

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Homepage

  3. Pingback: pure soap

  4. Pingback: wellness supplements

  5. Pingback: yoga sw1

  6. Pingback: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3tu_vTsKpc

Leave a comment